Posted by: paulgarner | December 23, 2011

Merry Christmas!

My Christmas holiday began today with a visit to our local wildfowl and wetlands reserve. I managed to see shoveler, mallard, pochard and wigeon, mute and whooper swans, greylag geese, moorhen and coot, lapwing, golden plover and reed bunting. It’s always a nostalgia trip for me because my grandad was the first warden of this particular reserve and I spent many happy boyhood hours there. In fact our family actually lived on the site for a while. And a visit seemed even more appropriate on this occasion given that I’ve been working on a couple of avian baraminology studies lately and so I had our feathered friends on my mind.

As I wind down for the holidays may I take this opportunity to wish all my readers a very happy Christmas and a blessed New Year. There are exciting things afoot – so see you in 2012!

Categories

