Posted by: paulgarner | December 7, 2010

Tuesday round up

Since my speaking schedule slowed down at the end of November I’ve been working on a paper that I need to complete before the Christmas holidays, as well as tidying up a number of administrative things. But I realised today that I hadn’t updated my blog for a week or two, so I thought it was time for a round up of items that have come to my attention recently.

First up is Larry Vardiman’s article on the Ice Age in Yellowstone National Park from the December edition of Acts and Facts. It’s a popular summary of the modelling work he’s been doing with Wes Brewer, showing that the warm post-Flood oceans readily explain the development of glaciers thousands of feet thick in and around Yellowstone during the centuries after the Flood. For the technical paper see here. Earlier studies focused on Yosemite National Park: here and here.

Also, a new ceratopsian dinosaur has been described from the Lower Cretaceous (Albian) of South Korea. Koreaceratops hwaseongensis had the same parrot-like beak as other ceratopsians, and was probably bipedal. However it uniquely had long neural spines on its caudal vertebrae, suggesting that it might have been a good swimmer. I don’t think there’s any particular significance for creationism; I just like dinosaurs.

Finally, I want to encourage you to read Todd Wood’s short essay on creationism and the anti-evolution movement. It’s hosted on the website of the Center for Faith and Science International (CFSI), to which Todd has agreed to contribute occasional articles. He has also posted a few additional comments on his blog in response to a reader. An earlier essay by Todd on young age creationism and the hermeneutical principle of accommodation is also worth perusing.

Categories

